Day 3
Still having a lot of trouble sleeping...
I'm adjusted to the time change I think, but maybe because I'm not running yet and my mind is racing ahead to think of classes that start on Monday and our first travel plans next weekend, I couldn't get to bed before 3:30 or so the past two nights.
Last night was especially bad, and I just couldn't sleep at all before 7am. I caught about three hours then before starting the day. It's not such a bad thing, its very peaceful in the middle of the night. And if you're awake for the adthan--the call to prayer--around 3:45 or so, it's beautiful. It seemed especially long two nights ago two before the Friday 'sabbath.'
I get a lot of reading done too and when my eyes hurt too much for that I flip on the news--because God bless 'em I think al-Jazeera invented the 24 hour news cycle and there's always something on. Plus, at night the competitor news station al-Arabiyyah intersperses history and documentary programming with their news updates. This is like my dream TV, the equivalent of merging the History Channel and BBC Worldnews.
Anyway, I think to solve the sleep thing (let's call a thing not necessarily a problem), I need to cut back on the coffe [qahwa]. I'm not having it late at night but it's either small cups of super-strong Turkish coffee at a cafe or home-brewed Nescafe (the quintessential Arab brew) in the evenings that must be carrying over somehow.
*The title of this post is also a pretty sweet REM song.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment